West Holmes FFA sales teams find success at state

West Holmes FFA sales teams find success at state

Participants before the state contest: Derek Miller, left, Tyler Zimmerly, Garrett Fowler and Logan VanDalen.


On March 11 the West Holmes FFA competed in the State Ag Sales in Columbus. The team placed fifth overall, and individually, Garrett Fowler was 10th, Derek Miller 16th, Tyler Zimmerly 26th and Logan VanDalen 54th.

During the Ag Sales contest, teams take a general knowledge test, discuss and strategize sales plans, create a precall plan, and then individually sell products to a judge. Members of the team gather before the individual sale to formulate a plan to sell the product and discuss connections they could make with the customer. This year the team was charged with carry-on trailers and accessories. Congratulations to these members for earning another banner for the West Holmes FFA.

On Feb. 21 the West Holmes FFA competed in the District Ag Sales at Norwayne High School. The team placed first, and individually, Derek Miller was first, Logan VanDalen second, Tyler Zimmerly fourth and Garrett Fowler sixth. The alternate was Alex Pringle. The ag sales team advanced to state as a result of this contest.

WHHS FFA tabs new officer team

On Feb. 26 the West Holmes FFA chapter held its annual February meeting. At the meeting the group conducted opening ceremonies and then proceeded into officer reports.

The next act was to go into new business.

Gabby Yates moved and Jenna Sheldon seconded to host West Holmes FFA Week and pay for all supplies and to refer to state and national affairs and social and rec committees with the power to report back.

Taelor Patterson moved and Blake Patterson seconded to hold a silent auction at the banquet.

Jenna Sheldon moved and Andi Schuch seconded to amend the motion to hold a silent auction at the banquet by adding to donate all proceeds to the dog pound at the end.

Colby Long moved and Maison Carter seconded to host a canned food drive and have all donations go to local food pantries or the FCCLA pantry.

Derek Miller moved and Andi Schuch seconded to pay for a hotel room for the state tractor trouble shooting team.

Bri Poventud moved and Emma Eberhard seconded to hold officer elections.

Casey Ogi moved and Emma Eberhard seconded to adjourn the meeting.

All motions passed.

The newly elected 2024-25 officer team is as follows: President Andi Schuch, Vice President Alex Pringle, secretary Garrett Fowler, reporter Jenna Sheldon, treasurer Shane Lorentz, sentinel Logan VanDalen, student adviser Gabby Yates and historian Blake Patterson.

Loading next article...

End of content

No more pages to load